Enter The Mind Of A Serial Killer... You May Never Come Back.
( Action / Crime / Drama / Horror / Thriller )

Manhunter Poster

US Runtime: 119 min

Premiere Date:
Aug 22, 1986   [USA]
Director: Michael Mann
Writer: Michael Mann   [screenplay]
Producers: Bernard Williams   [Executive Producer]
Dino De Laurentiis   [Producer]
Richard Roth   [Producer]
Music by Michel Rubini
Cinematography: Dante Spinotti
Production Design: Mel Bourne
Costume Design: Colleen Atwood
Production Companys: De Laurentiis Entertainment Group
Red Dragon Productions S.A.


William L. Petersen
FBI Agent Will Graham
Kim Greist
Molly Graham
Joan Allen
Reba McClane
Brian Cox
Dr. Hannibal Lecktor
Dennis Farina
FBI Section Chief Jack Crawford
Tom Noonan
Francis Dolarhyde
David Seaman
Kevin Graham
Benjamin Hendrickson
Dr. Frederick Chilton
Michael Talbott
Dan Butler
Jimmy Price
Michele Shay
Beverly Katz
Robin Moseley
Paul Perri
Dr. Sidney Bloom
Patricia Charbonneau
Mrs. Sherman
Bill Cwikowski
Ralph Dandridge
Alex Neil
Norman Snow
Jim Zubiena
Frankie Faison
Lt. Fisk
Garcelle Beauvais
Young Woman Housebuyer
Joanne Camp
Mother on Plane
David Allen Brooks
Mr. Leeds
Elisabeth Ryall
Mrs. Leeds
Chris Elliott
Gary Chavaras
Chris Cianciolo
Ken Colquit
Husband Housebuyer
Ron Fitzgerald
Storage Guard #1
Dennis Quick
Storage Guard #2
David Meeks
Dr. Warfield
Sherman Michaels
Robin Trapp
Secretary #1
Lisa Winters
Secretary #2
Daniel T. Snow
State Trooper
Cynthia Chvatal
Airport Waitress
King White
Swat Man
Dawn Carmen
Child on Plane
Robert A. Burton
Kin Shriner
Mr. Sherman
John Posey
Mr. Jacobi
Kristin Holby
Mrs. Jacobi
Brian Kelly
Jacobi Boy #2
Ryan Langhorne
Jacobi Boy #3
Hannah Caggiano
Sherman Child #1
Lindsey Fonora
Sherman Child #2
Jason Frair
Leeds Child #1
Bryant Arrants
Leeds Child #2
Christopher Arrants
Leeds Child #3
Melvin Clark
SWAT Team Member
Renee Ayala
SWAT Team Member
Dana Dewey
SWAT Team Member
Stephen Hawkins
SWAT Team Member
Leonard Johnson
SWAT Team Member
Keith Pyles
SWAT Team Member
Michael Russell
SWAT Team Member
Michael Vitug
SWAT Team Member
Pat Williams
SWAT Team Member
Charles Yarbaugh
SWAT Team Member
Bill Smitrovich
Lloyd Bowman
Peter Maloney
Dr. Dominick Princi
Michael D. Roberts
The Runner
Marshall Bell
Georgia State Trooper (uncredited)


Daniel Aguar
production assistant
Gusmano Cesaretti
still photographer
John Ferguson
Enrico Lucidi
camera operator
Stuart Neumann
location manager
Randy Nolen
steadicam operator
Valerie E. Norman
script supervisor
Marco Sacerdoti
focus puller: "a" camera

Filming Locations: (Now With Clickable Links To Location On Google Maps)


Tech Info:

$15,000,000 (USA)
Color Info:
Color (Technicolor)
Aspect Ratio:
2.35 : 1
Cinematographic Process:
J-D-C Scope
Film Negative Format:
35 mm
Printed Film Format:
35 mm


  • Will Graham: I know that I'm not smarter than you.
    Dr. Hannibal Lektor: Then how did you catch me?
    Will Graham: You had disadvantages.
    Dr. Hannibal Lektor: What disadvantages?
    Will Graham: Passion. And you're insane.
  • Dr. Hannibal Lektor: Save yourself, kill them all!
  • Dr. Hannibal Lektor: Dream much... Will?
  • Lloyd Bowman: You're so sly... but so am I.
  • Jack Crawford: You feel sorry for him.
    Will Graham: As a child, my heart bleeds for him. Someone took a little boy and turned him into a monster. But as an adult... as an adult, he's irredeemable. He butchers whole families to fulfill some sick fantasy. As an adult, I think someone should blow the sick f**k out of his socks.


  • The film was originally to be entitled "Red Dragon" after the novel, but when Year of the Dragon flopped, Dino de Laurentiis decided to avoid a "dragon" title.
  • The prison where Hannibal Lecter is being incarcerated is the High Museum of Art in Atlanta.
  • Frankie Faison (Lt. Fisk) is the only actor to appear in all four Thomas Harris "Hannibal" adaptations (he appears as Barney in The Silence of the Lambs, Hannibal and Red Dragon).

Visit The Manhunter Store

back to the Film Archives

Questions, Comments?   Please Contact ASH
Movie Database Last Updated: Mar 27, 2017
You are visitor since 04 Oct 2017

page design & content copyright © 2024 Andrew S. Harris

Dolby and the the double-d symbol are trademarks of Dolby Laboratories Licensing Corporation.
THX is a trademark of Lucasfilm Ltd.

return to